The National Honor Society for Women in Chemistry

Attendees at the 32nd Triennial Convention, hosted by Plutonium Chapter

Indianapolis, IN, July 2017

2020 Honorary Member

Dr. Frances Arnold, California Institute of Technology

Iota Sigma Pi, the National Honor Society for Women in Chemistry, has selected Professor Frances H. Arnold to receive the Invited National Honorary Member Award. Dr. Arnold is the fifth woman, and the first American woman, to win the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in the 117 years that the prize has been awarded. This award recognizes exceptional achievement in chemistry or an allied field that merits international recognition. 

Frances H. Arnold is the Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Biochemistry, and Bioengineering at the California Institute of Technology. She also serves as the Director of the Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering center and the Biotechnology Leadership Predoctoral Training. Prof. Arnold pioneered the field of directed evolution of enzymes, research that earned her the 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, making her the fifth woman to win the award.



©2021 by Iota Sigma Pi